Become a Patron!

Kanger NEBOX Rebuilding

I'm just trying to get a little better understanding of my builds and settings to use. I am running the Kanger NEBOX and upgraded from the Kanger SUBOX Mini and started rebuilding with the first rig. I have a CoilMaster Kit v2 to build consistent coils and have been building .35ohm coils for quite a few months regularly. Since my upgrade these coils that I build aren't quite as "magical" as they were in the SUBOX Mini...

Since upgrading, there are so many more settings and I'm just not sure bout 1 thing more than the rest:

There is a setting to "Choose your resistance wire, Ni 200, Ti or pure wattage output." When I am using the CoilMaster 24g Kanthal A1 wire to build... which setting should I choose?.? How do I determine Ni200 vs Ti vs Pure Wattage?

fratervapor

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Ni200 is for nickel wire, Ti is for Titanium. Wattage is for the rest.

fratervapor

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Yes, kanthal and nichrome are wattage only. AFAIK there are technical reasons why they can't be temp controlled but someone else will have to chime in on that.

Yes, kanthal and nichrome are wattage only. AFAIK there are technical reasons why they can't be temp controlled but someone else will have to chime in on that.
Thanks for the info! That explains why it kept acting like it was hitting max temp and just bein weird. Time to burn up this spool of Kanthal and upgrade. Do you have experience with these and recommend Ni 200 or Ti for my builds?

fratervapor

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
I don't have any experience with temp control. I do have a few devices that do it but I don't use use any resistance wire that requires TC.