Become a Patron!
Hey, folks, I'm new to DIY mixing, and I have some questions. But first let me lay out the facts of my current situation (which I realise is not entirely ideal).
  • My nicotine base is 30PG/70VG with 36mg/mL.
  • I have a bottle of 30PG/70VG pre-mixed. (I realise I should buy these separate, but alas, that's not what I have at the moment.)
  • All of my flavours are PG based.
  • I typically shoot for a target ratio of 30PG/70VG (yes, you can start to see the issue already), with 12-16mg/mL nicotine.
Okay, now the questions:
  1. I'm not sure how to use my pre-mixed PG/VG base in a recipe calculators; they all seem to presume I have separate PG and VG sources. For the time being, at least, should I just add the PG and VG volumes together? (For example, if the caluclator/recipe says to add 1.3mL PG and 5.7mL VG, should I just add that together and use 7mL of my mix?)
  2. The now clearly foreseen problem is that, because my bases are all 30/70, and my target is 30/70, but my flavours are all PG based, the recipe/calculator often tells me I need negative PG. How can I fix this (with the resources I have, or without needing to get a whole lot of new stuff)?
    1. Would it work if I bought a separate bottle of VG and added as much VG as the recipe tells me to subtract PG? (So, if the recipe says '-2mL PG', I would instead add 2mL of VG.) Does that math check out?
  3. I have some small 10mL bottles of pre-mixed flavours, and I'm not entirely sure how to use them. If the bottle recommends 4-7% concentration, is that what I put into the calculator? And then should I just play with the numbers until the volume of flavour reaches 10mL? Or how do I do this?