Become a Patron!

New builder

Hi all
I am new to building and i have just bought a single coil rta i have bought the gear rta and have put a 3mm coil in and also bought a pack of muji cotton 180 sheets what i want to no is how wide do i cut the cotton for a 3mm coil as its new to me any help would be appreciated

nadalama

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Senior Moderator
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years
VU Patreon
Hi all
I am new to building and i have just bought a single coil rta i have bought the gear rta and have put a 3mm coil in and also bought a pack of muji cotton 180 sheets what i want to no is how wide do i cut the cotton for a 3mm coil as its new to me any help would be appreciated

I'd cut the cotton a little over twice the width of the coil. Be sure to pull the outer layer off at least one side of the cotton, preferably both sides; it will be more absorbent and easier to work with that way.

ETA: And of course I'm thinking about koh gen do instead of muji, but if muji has those outer layers that are a different texture and thickness than the cotton in the center, I'd think you want to remove them.

Last edited:

Hype

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
In that set up you want to cut it to the 1st O ring fluff it out well , if its too tight it will not wick well . Its one of those tanks , like most that the learning curve is basic , but it delivers well. Be patient it might take more than one try . Do not look at it as failure , you have learned !!

vuJim

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
ECF Refugee
Reddit Exile
Nobody can really tell you "how much cotton." Partly because it depends on the cotton and the RTA. I can tell you how to gauge it in general terms.