Become a Patron!

New to Rebuildables

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum. But I have a few questions.

I've been vaping for awhile now and I just starting using a Kayfun 3.1. I'm still learning and figuring out how to make the best coils, how much cotton to use, what cotton to use, what I want my ohms at, and so on a so forth. I was hoping I could get some insight because I'm still running into problems.

I'm vaping off a MVP iTaste and using 28 gauge kanthal wire, using a 5/64 drill bit to wrap the coil on. The builds I've made so far seem to burn out so fast, like within a few hours. I'm using organic cotton. I can't put a finger on what I'm doing wrong here. I've watched countless videos, played with my settings and so on.

Basically what'll happen is I'll get a build done and everything will working great and will taste just awesome. Then about 1-2 hours later it will just taste burnt and just down right nasty. Like I said, I can't really figure out what I'm doing wrong here.

State O' Flux

Bronze Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
You've left out a few handy details, big... so I'll try and cover the possibles, based on the info you've provided.

Probably not the case, but you make it sound a bit like you're "throwing the baby out with the bathwater". You may need to replace wick and do a light dry burn regularly... but unless the coil is a disaster to begin with, or worn out (alumina content has degraded), a well built coil, wrapped using genuine 28 gauge Kanthal A1 wire, can literally last for months, in a Kayfun. (I say "genuine" because some of the Chinese, unlicensed "Chi-thal" wire exhibits poor quality and performance in vaping applications)