Become a Patron!

Rba mini plus, advice?

Crochetandcookies

Bronze Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
So I bought a subox mini kit, it came with a mini plus rba. I've watched youtube videos, but have no clue what I need to build a .5 ohm rba coil.

Any advice to get me started with rebuilding is very appreciated. I'm a total noob at this.

LOL good point... as one last off topic point.. there are some coil building starter kits on Amazon

Ok, lol I'll have to check them out. I'm not even sure what gauge of wire I need yet. I'm brand spanking new at this.

The videos I'm checking out on youtube don't show what gauge of wire they are using. They just show how to thread the wick thru the coil and prime it. I want to learn how to wrap my coils, what to wrap them around, how to read them, and what supplies I need to get started. Basically I need to dedicate some more time to deeper research on a .5 ohm build for a mini plus deck.

For now I'm using expensive ass manufactored kanger coils. Lmao. :p

gopher_byrd

Cranky Old Fart
VU Donator
Diamond Contributor
ECF Refugee
Member For 5 Years
VU Patreon
Start simple at first. First thing is head over here: http://www.steam-engine.org/ This site will do the math for you for figuring out the coil resistance. I plugged in dual 26 gauge Kanthal A1 2.5 mm Inside Diameter (ID) and 0.5 ohms. That says use an 9/8 wrap. What that means is you will see 9 wraps on the top side of the coil and 8 wraps where the leads are coming out.