Become a Patron!

Titanium Wire Safety?

cdcee

Member For 4 Years
Hello Bodyevery,

Newbie here.

I'm getting my mod and tank in today and will soon be working on my first build. I was chatting with a buddy yesterday and as I was watching him build his kanthal coil, I noticed he fires it up briefly to see how evenly it fires from the center-out. He was doing this on his IPV Mini 2.

Now the question that came to mind is whether I'll be able to do that with my VTC mini, as I'll be using Ti wire in TC. If I'm not mistaken, generally, I understand that TC prevents dry hits from occurring. So if I'll be building a Ti wire, would I be able to pulse fire it to see how evenly it fires up?

Then my buddy said I might be able to find a way around it. But then he mentioned that I wouldn't wanna do that because dry firing Ti can cause TiO2 to develop, which is not something I want to be vaping.

I don't see that many threads on here involving Ti builds. I honestly thought it would be way more common that its possibly better than kanthal, nickel, or Ni200? (But taste is subjective and I understand people have their own preferences)

No idea about SS yet. I have 25ft of Ti coil that I'd like to finish before trying out SS or whatnot. \

Side note: How come I see these complex & cool builds with Kanthal mainly and not Ti?

AmandaD

Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
I used to use a lot of TI for TC. You can build contact coils and dry fire them just until the coils turn blue. If you fire them until they get that whitish ashy look you've gone too far!

cdcee

Member For 4 Years
So if you've gone too far. What do you do? Scrap that and start over? Any idea what temp produces TiO2?

AmandaD

Platinum Contributor
Member For 4 Years
So if you've gone too far. What do you do? Scrap that and start over? Any idea what temp produces TiO2?
You won't produce it using temp control - even at max temp (it needs to be much hotter to get that).