Become a Patron!

Vape Science & confusion: Is there a variable missing in Ohm’s law for proper vaping?

colonel2lucky

Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
On all vaping websites, they talk about Ohm’s law and the simple P=V^2/R so lower resistances generate higher powers and therefore we will need to vape that lower resistance coil at a higher power. Simple.

So why do some people vape a 0.1 ohm coil at 75W and if they increase the wattage it gives out a burning taste, and others are able to vape it at 100W?

I’m a scientist but a beginner to vaping so is there any equation out there that would better reflect all the parameters involved (such as the equation behind the steam engine calculator)?

If you have the time, this concept is also making me confused in these specific examples. Can you figure out the answers?

1. Can I build ANY kind of RDA (in a Troll V2) on an 80W battery (iStick Power) that can handle down to 0.1 ohms as long as this RDA coil is at least 0.1 ohms? Meaning, as long as the resistance is compatible, it will vape or is there something more to it?

2. My 0.4 ohm coil in a specific tank (Smok Baby TVF4) is on my 80W battery. The coil is rated best at 50W to 80W. However, I can only increase the wattage to 40W before it starts having a burning taste. The recommended wattage is just too much for that coil. Why?

3. If I vape a 0.15 ohm coil at 75W and switch devices to another brand of coil (still 0.15 ohm) and another battery, would my ideal wattage still be 75W?

HondaDavidson

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Because regulated and some protected mods don't use Ohms Law. They use Watts law.. to determine operational safety and function... as the battery safety is handled mistly by the PCB.. max ohm isn't as important max output is.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

Angrygod50

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years