Become a Patron!

Bad taste with Uwell Crown and iPV D2

I've been vaping for about 9 months now. I have some experience but there are a lot of things that I don't understand. About a month ago I upgraded to the iPV D2 mod and the Uwell Crown sub tank. I've been VERY happy with the performance of the set up and I haven't had any problems.. until now.

I realized that my tank came with three different types of coils, 0.5 ohm, 0.25 ohm, and and an Ni200 coil, all dual coils. Until now I thought that my tank just came with two replacement 0.5 ohm coils. This is the first mod I've had that has Joule temperature control capabilities so I wanted to try out the Ni200 coil and see how it was. I primed the coil with juice and let the coil sit for 30 minutes to get nice and saturated and I started the coil out at 380 degrees and 20 Joules. I read this suggestion online. It was a way of breaking the coil in. The flavor that I got was awful. It was somewhere between burnt rubber and burnt cotton from a dirty coil. It was really bad. I thought this was weird because I had followed instructions for a good start to a new Ni200 coil. I figured I would put it aside for now and see what the problem was later. I decided to put my old coil back in, the one that had been working just fine.

This is where my real problem comes in. Before putting my old coil back in I swabbed the outside with a q-tip and cleaned it up. The flavor still tasted awful, the same as it did with the Ni200. It's been about an hour, I've been trying to run some juice through it and see if that helped any. I've got almost no change in the flavor. Does anyone know what is causing this and how to fix it? I've never run into this problem and I'm not entirely certain how to find the solution. If anyone has any ideas they can send my way I'd love to hear them. Also, keep in mind I'm pretty basic when it comes to terminology on these things.