Become a Patron!

Battery Problems with Kanger

Hello,

I have been using a Kanger Toptank Mini for about 6 months now and I have recently been having some troubles with my batteries. I have been using 5x Sony VTC4 batteries (2000mah), they were working fine for about 4 months and then my mod started to have trouble detecting them. I have to push them in and find a 'sweet spot' by rolling them around inside the mod for them to be recognized otherwise the mod just doesn't work. Once I find the correct spot they seem to work just fine though. This happened to all of my batteries at the same time so I'm thinking it is a problem with the mod or my charger. How long before I should be buying a new set of batteries? Any suggestions as to what I should do about this or what the problem could be?

Thanks for any help!

Last edited:

Paratech

I forgot
VU Donator
Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
With what you described, I'd suspect the entire issue to be in the mod.
If rolling them or moving them around inside the mod makes them work, more than likely the contacts are the issue.
Could be bad solder or numerous other things.
But if rolling them makes them work, I'd say it can't be the batteries or external charger.
However since I can't see them or it, I'm speculating.

Lefty

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
Member For 5 Years
Give the contacts in the battery compartment a good clean with an alcohol wipe or q-tip and alcohol. Clean the ends of the batteries as well, out of the mod, one end at a time. Check your batteries for any denting on the negative or positive end and that the wrap has no nicks with bare metal showing through. Basic maintenance. If that doesn't do it try a different set of batteries. After that you can assume it's the mod.

MannyScoot

Diamond Contributor
Member For 4 Years