Become a Patron!

Diy juices horrible (noob)

Synphul

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Ok folks I need some assistance. I'm new to diy so bear with me. I ordered some diy items from mbv to try making my own juices at home and nothing seems right about it. I've ordered premade from mbv in the past so that's what I'm comparing my results to.

I ordered some of their 50/50 pg/vg nic base at 24mg/ml nic which is higher than I typically vape which is 18mg/ml. I also ordered a few flavorings to go with which as I understand have 0 nic and are supposed to be pg only. By my math, if I use say 20% flavor my pg/vg should change from 50/50 to 60pg/40vg in the end product. My nic content should be diluted down to around 19.4mg/ml (80% of 24mg/ml is 19.4).

So far so good? Not even close. I've steeped my juice for going on 3 weeks now. I've shaken it, heated it by placing in a bowl of rice I heated in the microwave (rice only), I've squeezed the air out of the bottle and shaken some more. It tastes like 30% pg, 25% vg and 45% isopropyl alcohol or astringent. It's nasty and chemical.

The consistency is also way different. Obviously 65/35 pg/vg will be a bit on the runny side but I'm using clearo's on a vape pen. I double checked the premade I bought from them and it's much thicker, similar to thin oil. My diy is like straight tap water in viscosity. The 50/50 nic base solution in the bottle is far thinner than the finished 65/35 I've purchased and the 65% pg should be thinner.

I tasted a drop of premade on my fingertip, only a very slight burn/pepper from the nic with sweeter tastes of the flavor notes. Mine? Choke and cough up like I licked diesel fuel laced with pepper. Straight out of the mail (roughly a week of steeping) their juice tastes alright, it's vapable. Mine after nearly 3wks is as raw as you can get. Color of the juice has changed but still can't tolerate it and I've smoked cigars, swallowed the juice from chewing tobacco etc. I'm not a total wuss.