Become a Patron!

Is a visible seam a definitive sign of fake sony vtc5s?

Hi, I just purchased some sony vtc5 batteries and have reason to believe they may be fake. I am new to mods as I have only owned cheap vapor pens in the past where I have never had to buy rechargeable batteries. I bought them [my first set of 18650s] not knowing the high amount of fake clones that are produced intended to replicate this battery. From research I have done, videos and forums, these batteries seem to have attributes of legitimate vtc5 batteries, the major flaw that I can find is on all 4 batteries I have purchased there is a seam that is visible. Does a visible seam automatically constitute a fake Sony battery? I used the battery lookup tool and got:
Production date is Thu Nov 05 2015
I, however, am still somewhat skeptical and am prepared to return these batteries if they are indeed fake and order a different brand.

Can anyone with some experience take a look and let me know if these look fake?

I plan on running them with a Sigelei TC Mod, and after reading some of the forum I have found that Illumination Supply is a reputable distributor. If these are fake I plan on purchasing a set [non sony] from them, Are there any batteries that a more experienced person would recommend?

EDIT: Sorry I forgot to post the image with the batch # and Logo. Sorry for the brightness, Ill change the picture when my camera battery recharges

Attachments

• IMG_1675.JPG
    IMG_1675.JPG
    374.6 KB · Views: 23
  • IMG_1678.JPG
    IMG_1678.JPG
    661.7 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_1671.JPG
    IMG_1671.JPG
    285.4 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_1676.JPG
    IMG_1676.JPG
    989.6 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_1680.JPG
    IMG_1680.JPG
    674.1 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_1671.JPG
    IMG_1671.JPG
    906.3 KB · Views: 15
Last edited:

NickyGiaccone

Bronze Contributor
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years