Become a Patron!

DisasterousDan

Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
hey guys

I am new to box mods and rda's. I currently have a fixed wattage mod at 40w and have a 0.5ohm tank. I bought my first rda and built a 0.3 ohm dual coil set up and it works great. I am looking to buy a new box mod which is variable. It can go to a max of 70w and says that it can use 0.1-3.5 ohm coils.

I was just wondering if it is ok to use a 0.3 ohm setup using 24g kanthal, 7wraps and 3mm id, at 70 watts? Obviously I don't want to damage the mod or cause a hazard to myself. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

robot zombie

Silver Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Yeah, that's about the right power level for such a build. You're not going to damage the mod by running any coil within its specified resistance range at any wattage. The way that they regulate the power prevents them from running configurations that the circuitry can't handle.

Running a low enough coil at a high enough wattage can cause it to heat up a bit, but most mods will let you know that they're getting too hot by not firing. That build would be a pretty warm vape, but still well within reason.

If it's a single-battery mod, then it will pull 15 amps to give you 70w. Make sure you have some decent 20A batteries. I recommend the Samsung 25r5. The one thing you're not protected from is the mod pulling more current than your battery can handle. It doesn't know the amp limit. It's not psychic like that. Don't skimp on batteries. Other than that, you're good to go. Have at it.

Just out of curiosity... ...what mod are you looking at? What atty are you going to drop that dual 24 in?

JERUS

Gold Contributor
Member For 4 Years
Member For 3 Years
Member For 2 Years
Member For 1 Year
hey guys