Become a Patron!

Making a leather sleeve / case for your mods

magnetik

Member For 4 Years
I'm a new member and new vaper so I apologize if this is in the wrong forum.

I've been lurking but learned a lot from this forum and have seen others ask for leather cases. I do leather work as a hobby and have made things like sheaths, holsters, wallets, etc.. Vaping gave me something else to practice on.. I just want to state in advance that leather work is a hobby and I am by no means an expert. I am also not selling anything.. this is a diy tutorial for those that want to try a relatively easy leather project.

I wanted something for my mods since they're pretty heavy and slick.. I kept on feeling I was going to drop it by accident every time I picked it up. Well.. I despise silicone and it's really hard to pull out of pockets sometimes and nothing really feels as nice as leather, imo.

Mods grip perfectly in the hand now. This method should work for most box mods.. not the funky shaped ones.. even then you can wet mold to get the shape into the leather. I use a ball end pen set for this.. makes it much easier to get detail.

Svv1Xoi.jpg

Tools/Stuff needed:

3-4oz veg tanned leather
xacto knife or similar
hole punches / awl
ruler and / or soft tape measure
sewing needles (blunt, large enough for waxed thread)
waxed thread
colored oil dye
sponge or wool dauber

Sorry I didn't get more pics and the order is kinda confusing.. I didn't think of it until I had already stitched up the side but you can get the gist. Also it would be a good idea to remove the batteries before you start. If anyone has any questions lmk.